The association

SOS Villages d’Enfants Monde, a non-governmental organization, under the High Patronage of Her Royal Highness the Grand Duchess, has been working in Luxembourg since 1974. The association, agreed by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, supports a large number of projects in the field of child protection.

Our programmes focus on child protection and foster community mechanisms to better respond to all forms of violence that may impact children. SOS offers as well essential services, reinforces the capacities of parents, teachers and community organizations by sharing its expertise and raising awareness.


Currently, our association supports 2 Child's rights protection programmes, 12 community empowerment programmes3 educational and vocational training programmes, as well as 7 emergency relief and reconstruction programmes (Colombia, Ethiopia, Haiti, Iraq, Lebanon, Nepal and Syria) aiming at helping thousands of vulnerable children and their families worldwide.

Furthermore, the association focuses on development education and undertakes awareness raising activities in schools and towards the general public. 

SOS Children's Villages in numbers
In 135 countries and territories, over 84,500 children are taken care of in 571 SOS Children's Villages or benefit of one of 720 programmes. Over 297,000 young and adults get access to education in one of the 656 SOS Schools, SOS kindergarten, SOS centres for vocational training and SOS social centres. Furthermore, SOS helps over 493,000 people through its family strengthening and community empowerment programmes. On the medical side, 77 SOS medical centres have opened their doors. Finally, SOS helps endangered children and their families through 30 emergency relief programmes

L'association

Depuis sa création en 1974, c’est grâce au soutien du Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes (Direction de la Coopération au Développement) et à la générosité de ses nombreux donateurs, parrains et amis, que SOS Villages d’Enfants Monde soutient de multiples projets dans le domaine des droits et de la protection de l'enfant.
 

Actuellement, SOS Villages d’Enfants Monde soutient sur la durée des programmes axés sur les droits, la protection, la prise en charge et l’éducation des enfants en Afrique de l’Ouest (Guinée, Mali, Niger, Sénégal) et en Eurasie (Népal, Ouzbékistan, Russie). Par ailleurs, elle se mobilise pour des programmes d’aide d’urgence et d’aide à la reconstruction en Colombie, en Ethiopie, en Haïti, en Irak, au Liban, au Népal et en Syrie

L'association fait également de l’éducation au développement un de ses points forts et mène des actions de sensibilisation dans les écoles et auprès du public luxembourgeois.

SOS Villages d'Enfants en chiffres

Dans 135 pays et territoires, 84.500 jeunes sont pris en charge dans 571 Villages d’Enfants SOS ou à travers 720 programmes spécifiques. Plus de 297.000 jeunes et adultes bénéficient de programmes éducatifs dans 656 Ecoles SOS, Jardins d’Enfants SOS, Centres SOS de formation professionnelle et Centres sociaux SOS. De plus, l’organisation vient en aide à quelque 493.000 personnes à travers ses 550 programmes de renforcement familial et d'accompagnement communautaire. Côté santé, 77 Centres médicaux SOS ont ouvert leurs portes. Enfin, SOS Villages d’Enfants vient en aide aux enfants et aux familles en danger à travers 30 programmes d’aide d’urgence.